Sweet and Salty Chia Greek Yogurt

image

Robust Recipe: Sweet and Salty Chia Greek Yogurt 

I’M BAAACCCKKKK! It took me entirely too long to think up a good post for my first one back after a couple months off! I hope this will suffice. I think it is a good one and highly suggest going to the grocery store to buy the ingredients… and now that I think about it, this would make a great 4th of July treat!

Ok , so the name? Sweet and Salty? Chia? YES. Chia seeds, vanilla Greek yogurt, fresh blueberries AND sea salted dark chocolate covered almonds. This equals heavenly my friends.

Heavenly and healthy.

Chia seeds (cha cha cha chia!) are full of omega 3’s, calcium, protein and fiber! This is what we call a super food! And I am super excited to experiment with chia seeds some more this summer. Moving on to our other ingredients- I think we all know the healthy benefits of almonds (being that they are high in monounsaturated fat they are a wonderfully heart healthy addition to this sweet and salty dish). The dark chocolate covering the almonds provide antioxidants as well (the sea salt- well, it’s not a lot of added sodium if you only use 6-7 almonds 😉 ) . Even more antioxidants and fiber come from the blueberries and of course Greek yogurt is packed with calcium, vitamin D and protein as well.

This dish is a super food to the max.

Ingredients: 

Chia Seeds

Vanilla Greek Yogurt

Blueberries

Sea Salted Dark Chocolate Covered Almonds (I got these at Trader Joe’s)

wpid-IMAG1545.jpg

Directions: 

You all know me and measuring…well I usually don’t…soooo here go my best guesses:

~4-6oz Greek Yogurt

1 pinch of Chia Seeds (~1/2 tablespoon)

Handful of Blueberries (~1/2 cup?)

6-7 Almonds ( I didn’t crush them but if you had the means of crushing them it may spread the flavor better).

Seriously go and get these ingredients. It is really good.

Until next time, Let’s Be Robust!

Glad to be back! 🙂

wpid-IMAG1542.jpg

About Julie Shobe

I'm a registered dietitian (RD) who has a passion for eating a balanced diet, staying active and loving the Lord.
This entry was posted in Robust Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

