Quinoa Black Bean and Veggie Salad

Robust Recipe: Quinoa Black Bean and Veggie Salad

image

wpid-IMAG1268.jpg

Thanks to my wonderful Jenna T for sending me this crisp and refreshing recipe! This salad makes a great healthy addition to a lunch or just as a snack.  This makes a large batch so it will last about a week, if you do not eat it sooner 😉 I cannot wait until the farmer’s markets open so I can get my produce from there to make this fresh salad even fresher.

It’s meatless yet is still a great source of protein (from the quinoa, cheese and beans). It’s gluten free friendly too.  Hope you all like it!

Ingredients: 

1) 1 cup uncooked quinoa

2) 1 cucumber- sliced and chopped

3) 1 container of cherry tomatoes- sliced

4) 2 peppers- yellow, red or green- chopped

5) 15 oz  can low sodium black beans (or make them in the crock pot for cheap and no added sodium! I’ll be making a post on how to make beans in a crock pot)

6) 8oz fresh mozzarella cheese or feta cheese or blue cheese (I’ve used both mozzarella and blue. My friend, JT, uses feta; I cannot wait to try it)

7) Season lightly with balsamic vinegar and olive oil OR  with light Italian salad dressing

Directions:

1) Cook quinoa and cool.

2) Mix all chopped and sliced veggies and cheese into a large resealable container and add cooled quinoa.

wpid-IMAG1267.jpg

wpid-IMAG1266.jpg

3) Either season as a whole or season in individual batches (I seasoned individually so I could have a few different flavors for the same salad). I also enjoyed it without any dressing.

wpid-IMAG1270.jpg

Be sure to share and enjoy!

Let’s Be Robust!

About Julie Shobe

I'm a registered dietitian (RD) who has a passion for eating a balanced diet, staying active and loving the Lord.
This entry was posted in Robust Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

