Meatloaf

Robust Recipe: Meatloaf

I don’t care that people make fun of meatloaf. I love it. My Mom always made my Grandma’s delicious meatloaf growing up, and I’ve taken that recipe and made it a smidgen healthier by sneaking veggies and flax seed into it!

Since having thawed meat and poultry is a part of this recipe I thought it would be a good idea to share this link from USDA describing safe methods to thaw meat and poultry:  http://www.fsis.usda.gov/Fact_Sheets/Big_Thaw/#2

*I only have one picture of the meat mixture for part of this post….I’m no prefessional photographer and I cannot make meatloaf look good with my camera phone…I promise it tastes great though!

Ingredients:

Yields 2 small to medium loaves 

1lbs lean ground turkey (90/10 or 93/7) (thawed)

1lbs lean ground pork (thawed)

1-2 green, yellow, or red pepper(s), chopped into small pieces

1/2 cup carrots, thinly shredded

1/2 cup mushrooms, chopped

1/2 onion

1/2 cup celery, chopped into small pieces

1 egg

2 slices whole grain bread, crumbled up

1/2 cup skim milk

1/3 cup ground or milled flax seed

Ketchup Sauce: (To be honest I usually don’t measure this ketchup mixture out; so these measurements are my closest guess-ta-ments.)

1/2-3/4 cup ketchup

1-2 TBS brown sugar

1-2 TSP nutmeg

1-2 TSP dry mustard

Directions:

1) Chop up or shred all the vegetables and crumble the bread in a large mixing bowl.

2) Add and combine thawed ground pork and ground turkey with all of the vegetables, ground flax seed,  crumbled bread, egg and skim milk into meat loaf mixture (I like to use my “mix’n chop” pampered chef utensil however clean hands with do the job as well).

wpid-IMAG0963.jpg

3) Pack the meatloaf mixture into loaf pans ( I usually use 2 loaf pans (one is bigger than the other).

4) Mix all of the ketchup sauce ingredients (ketchup, nutmeg, brown sugar, dry mustard) together in a separate smaller bowl).

5) Spread ketchup mixture on top of loaves using a brush or spoon.

6) Bake in oven at 375 Fahrenheit for 60ish minutes or until internal temperature has reached 165 degrees Fahrenheit.

Be sure to share and enjoy!

Let’s Be Robust!

Also, shout of to my friend Sarah who inspired me to finish this post! She asked me to do a healthy meatloaf recipe and I had started this meatloaf post back in January and never finished it. Thanks for the request Sarah!:)

About Julie Shobe

I'm a registered dietitian (RD) who has a passion for eating a balanced diet, staying active and loving the Lord.
This entry was posted in Robust Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meatloaf

  1. Harlan says:

    Whoa a lot of helpful material.

Leave a Reply

