Green Spinach Smoothie (Don’t worry it has fruit, yogurt, and kefir in it too!)

Robust Recipe: Green Spinach Smoothie (Don’t worry it has fruit, yogurt and kefir in it too!)

image

 

My friend Amy Lou, sent me this picture of her robust smoothie! Looks absolutely delicious!!! Thanks Amy!

My friend Amy Lou, sent me this picture of her robust smoothie! Looks absolutely delicious! And what a fun straw!! Thanks Amy!

I was given instructions from one of my favorite people in my life to post a smoothie recipe. So here you go, Bethany :).

Now I know probably everyone knows from pinterest that you can add spinach to your smoothies and NOT TASTE IT! So for the record, I know you already know, but let’s make our smoothies green! 🙂

This particular recipe I used Greek yogurt and kefir (a yogurt type drink), both a great source of probiotics, low lactose and high in protein. I also love to use frozen fruit instead of fresh fruit for smoothies, I know that sounds weird… The reason being when you use fresh you have to add ice and if you have left overs and want to refrigerate the extra it separates and becomes a weird texture. If you use frozen fruit there’s no need to add ice and no weird separating textures.

Okay, so we know this smoothie is nutritious…Just how nutritious? Well, let me share… It is high in probiotics, great for digestive health and helpful for our immune system. It’s high in hunger-curbing protein. How high you ask? A whole 25 grams high! There’s a whopping 5 grams of fiber, and high amounts of calcium, iron and vitamins A, D, K and C. Let’s not forget all the powerful antioxidants, phytochemicals and plant stanols the fruit and spinach provide. For you gluten freebies, it’s also without the gluten. Geeewiz! All of that in about 365 calories! Now I’d say that’s 365 calories well spent.

So, here are the measurements to make this easy (I left that out- it’s incredibly easy to make) nutritious and delicious smoothie.

Ingredients:

image

1)2 Cups frozen mixed fruit- I used mangoes, strawberries, and peaches
2) 6oz Container Greek yogurt- I used raspberry flavor
3) 3/4 Cup kefir- I used a mix of strawberry and blueberry flavor
4) 1 Overflowing Cup of spinach

Directions:

1) Add all ingredients to blender (I used a “magic bullet” type hand blender)

image

2) Blend thoroughly till there are no lumps.

image

3) Sip up and ENJOY!

 

image

Let’s Be Robust!

About Julie Shobe

I'm a registered dietitian (RD) who has a passion for eating a balanced diet, staying active and loving the Lord.
This entry was posted in Robust Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Green Spinach Smoothie (Don’t worry it has fruit, yogurt, and kefir in it too!)

  1. Bethany says:

    YES!! This is everything I have been waiting for. And more. Breakfast tomorrow, done and done.

Leave a Reply

