To Be Robust

Hello!

Being a registered dietitian (RD) I often find myself helping people eat healthier. Also being a runner, I often find myself helping people stay motivated to keep up their activity levels. Being a Christian, I often find myself needing help with growth in my faith.  That being said, I want to help others and need help from others to stay healthy!

My goal for, “Let’s Be Robust” is to engage people in thinking about taking care of their health. Not just physical health but mental and spiritual health as well.

“Robust” means: 1) Exhibiting strength or vigorous health 2) Capable of performing without failure under a wide range of conditions 3) Full-bodied or hearty.

I like these definitions because the word “robust” can relate to fitness, food and faith. Food should be something we enjoy and that tastes good! In other words, “full-bodied.” To “exhibit strength and health” we need to exercise and eat a balanced diet.  And finally, being a Christian  means having faith in Jesus Christ, and having that faith, “without failure under a wide range of conditions.” Robust is an all encompassing word really…

I’d like for you and me to work toward being strong, fit, and wholesome…toward being robust.

I’ll be posting eating tips, workouts, favorite bible passages, recipes, and exercise tips in an effort to make us all a little more “Robust.”Feel free to add comments or questions.

Thanks for reading!

P.S. To share a little about me; I’m from Minnesota, don’t love cold weather but LOVE our summers. I am a wife, I got married August 2011 and couldn’t be happier. My husband’s name is Justin and he is a critical care paramedic, ultra marathon runner, rodeo clown, drummer, and a wonderful husband. He definitely doesn’t let our lives get boring 🙂 I’m an aunt. I have the cutest nieces and nephews on both sides of our family. I’m a daughter. I probably have the best parents in the world. I’m a sister. I’ve always looked up to my big sister as she has paved the way and set a great example. I am a friend. I’m convinced I have some of the best friends in the world. I am a runner. I’ve run a couple marathons, half marathons, 10 milers and many 5K’s. I enjoy running with others and also love the competitiveness I get within myself when I run alone.  I’m a registered dietitian. I help people eat a healthier diet for whatever their needs may be. I’m a baker and a chef…haha at least I try. I’m a  hiker. Justin is from Montana so some of my absolute favorite past times is to go for a hike. Whether it’s an all day hike up in the mountains or just a quick 20 min walk or run through a nearby trail, I love every minute of it. I like to bike and I like to down hill ski and am trying to like cross country skiing. I’m not a huge reader, but do enjoy it and am always trying to find books that capture my attention (any suggestions?). I am a Christian. I love Jesus Christ and strive to be more like him.  I love me a new adventure and challenge- so bring it on “Let’s Be Robust.” 🙂

Doing some of my favorite things…hiking in the Montana mountains, acting like I know how to do yoga and enjoying a beautiful day with my husband, Justin.

"Trust me- Im an RD"

“Trust me- I’m an RD”
Justin made this apron for me 🙂

About Julie Shobe

I'm a registered dietitian (RD) who has a passion for eating a balanced diet, staying active and loving the Lord.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to To Be Robust

  1. Ella Goodwyn says:

    You should read The Same Kind of Different as Me, Julie! Its a wonderful book about faith and a true story.

  2. Stacey Lemmon says:

    Great Blog! I cannot wait to see more. How would I go about getting some help from you as far as health wise. I am not sure what you charge but I wanted to talk to someone about eating and physical activity. Thanks Julie! Hope yours and Justin’s races are going well.

    • Julie Shobe says:

      Thanks so much Stacey! I hope this blog can help, I’d love to get a 1:1 service set up via skype, or at least via email dialogue for a fee for service. I’ll let you know what I come up with!

  3. sarah says:

    enjoyed reading this! I’ve been thinking of starting a blog…

  4. Kenzie says:

    Will be a follower of your blog!!

Leave a Reply

